Mihajlovic: ‘Non-existent Genoa penalty’

Bologna coach Sinisa Mihajlovic was sent off for dissent during the 2-2 draw with Genoa and continued to vent his fury at a ‘non-existent penalty.’

He had thought the Rossoblu earned a victory with Aaron Hickey’s strike and a Marko Arnautovic penalty, around the temporary Mattia Destro equaliser.

However, moments later, the referee awarded a spot-kick at the other end for a Kevin Bonifazi foul on Yayah Kallon.

“It was Bonifazi who was pushed over first, so the foul was on him,” said Mihajlovic in his press conference.

“As he fell, he landed on his opponent, but that is all. The penalty is non-existent, referees must learn to evaluate incidents properly.

“It’s disappointing for my lads, because we did everything possible to win this match. Genoa are a good side, but they did not create many chances.”

Bologna were coming off a 6-1 defeat at Inter and that showed in their static first half performance at the Stadio Dall’Ara.

“We were a little tense in the first half, but recovered after the break. It’s disappointing, that’s all I can say.”