Ryder Cup 2021 date: UK start times, confirmed teams with captains’ picks and competition format as Team Europe eye glory at Whistling Straits – Rahm and McIlroy lead tourists with legends Garcia and Poulter in

The 2021 Ryder Cup is just around the corner as Team Europe eye glory over the USA at Whistling Straits.

The Europeans romped to victory in Paris in 2018 with Francesco Molinari and Tommy Fleetwood among the players starring.

The 2021 Ryder Cup is just around the corner

Team Europe lost on their last trip to the States – at Hazeltine in 2016 – but will still have fond memories of their miracle at Medinah in 2012.

Whistling Straits should prove a tough but terrific test for the teams and golf fans will be eagerly awaiting the action especially after the Ryder Cup was postponed due to the Covid pandemic last year.

Now that the four Majors are done this year, all eyes are turning to golf’s blockbuster team event.  

Ryder Cup 2021: Date and start time

The 2021 Ryder Cup will be held at Whistling Straits in Haven, Wisconsin.

Whistling Straits plays to a par 72 and is 7,790 yards in length with its four par 5s and four par 3s sure to create plenty of drama.

The 2015 PGA Championship was held there with Australia’s Jason Day claiming Major glory that year.

The 2021 Ryder Cup will begin on Friday, September 24 and run until Sunday, September 26.

Play is scheduled to begin at 2pm UK time on the opening two days and at 6pm on Sunday.

Team Europe claimed glory over the USA in Paris in 2018

Ryder Cup 2021: How to follow

The action will be shown on Sky Sports Main Event and Sky Sports Golf throughout the week.

Coverage will start at 1pm on Friday and Saturday and at 5pm on Sunday.

The best of the action will also be live across the talkSPORT network throughout the week with regular updates on talkSPORT and talkSPORT 2.

Ryder Cup 2021: The teams

US captain Steve Stricker has selected Jordan Spieth, Xander Schauffele, Harris English, Tony Finau, Daniel Berger and Scottie Scheffler as his picks for the Ryder Cup.

Open champion Collin Morikawa, Dustin Johnson, Bryson DeChambeau, Brooks Koepka, Justin Thomas and Patrick Cantlay were the six automatic qualifiers.

European captain Padraig Harrington then named his team following the completion of the BMW PGA Championship at Wentworth.

The European team has been made up of nine players to qualify by right with a further three captain’s picks.

World number one Jon Rahm will lead the team while the likes of Rory McIlroy and Tommy Fleetwood are also in.

Harrington’s picks are Ryder Cup legends Sergio Garcia and Ian Poulter and former Open champion Shane Lowry.

Ryder Cup Teams – Confirmed players so far

Team USA

  • Collin Morikawa – automatic qualifier
  • Dustin Johnson – automatic qualifier
  • Bryson DeChambeau – automatic qualifier
  • Justin Thomas – automatic qualifier
  • Brooks Koepka – automatic qualifier
  • Patrick Cantlay – automatic qualifier
  • Jordan Spieth – captain’s pick
  • Xander Schauffele – captain’s pick
  • Harris English – captain’s pick
  • Tony Finau – captain’s pick
  • Daniel Berger – captain’s pick
  • Scottie Scheffler – captain’s pick

Team Europe

  • Jon Rahm – automatic qualifier
  • Tommy Fleetwood – automatic qualifier
  • Rory McIlroy – automatic qualifier
  • Viktor Hovland – automatic qualifier
  • Paul Casey – automatic qualifier
  • Brend Wiesberger – automatic qualifier
  • Matt Fitzpatrick – automatic qualifier
  • Lee Westwood – automatic qualifier
  • Tyrrell Hatton – automatic qualifier
  • Shane Lowry – captain’s pick
  • Sergio Garcia – captain’s pick
  • Ian Poulter – captain’s pick

Ryder Cup 2021: The format

A total of 28 points are up for grabs at the Ryder Cup with each match worth one.

The competition is held over three days with three different disciplines; the foursomes, the fourballs and the singles.

Any match that is tied after 18 holes will see both teams earn half a point.

The first team to hit 14½ points will win the Ryder Cup and should the tournament finish 14-14, the team who won the previous edition will retain the trophy.

  • Day 1 (Friday): Four foursome matches and four fourball matches
  • Day 2 (Saturday): Four foursome matches and four fourball matches
  • Day 3 (Sunday): 12 singles matches