First Premier League winners, when was it formed, first goal scored and more – stats and facts for 30 years where Man United and Arsenal dominated followed by Chelsea and Man City – not forgetting Blackburn, Liverpool and Leicester!

The Premier League as we know it has been shaped by 30 years of football and has brought us great entertainment and goals galore.

Fans can look back nostalgically on the numerous fairy tales, winners, thousands of goals and the best players in the world.

Sir Alex Ferguson turned Man United into the dominant Premier League side of the 1990s
Aguero’s goal against QPR in 2012 is one of the iconic Premier League moments
Getty Images – Getty

The top-flight of English football is steeped in history and with it, so is the Premier League.

There are a number of records broken each season with personal tallies and club milestones being reshaped.

Here, looks at some of the stats and facts from the Premier League archives.

When was the Premier League founded?

It was founded on May 27, 1992.

Prior to this, the top flight was known as the Football League First Division.

It has been re-branded a number of times since then, with it being called the Premiership from 1993 to 2001.

It’s not the only league in English football to go through various name revamps; The Championship as we know it now was the First Division until 2004 and for 100 years, the Football League Second Division.

Who won the first Premier League title?

Manchester United won the first title in the 1992/93 season, their first major title for 26 years. They followed it up with another title win the season after.

United have won a record 20 top flight titles, with 13 of those coming in the Premier League era.

Ryan Giggs won 13 Premier League titles with Man United
Leicester stunned everyone by winning the Premier League in 2016

Premier League Winners

The most notable of all winners however, goes to the historical, most unexpected champions ever in Leicester City.

The Foxes defied odds of 5000/1 to reach league glory in the 2015/16 season.

After Liverpool’s Premier League victory in 2020, there are now seven teams who have lifted the trophy.

Premier League champions

  • Manchester United (13)
  • Chelsea (5)
  • Manchester City (5)
  • Arsenal (3)
  • Blackburn (1)
  • Leicester City (1)
  • Liverpool (1)


Goal Milestones

A plethora of goals but only a handful of players get their names in the history books.

There are some incredible names in this list and some you may not expect…

1st – Brian Deane for Sheffield United, 15th August 1992

The first goal of the many thousands in the Premier League was scored by Deane.

The striker headed home against Manchester United to earn himself a place in pub quizzes around the country.

100th – Eric Cantona for Leeds United, 25th August 1992

Cantona was recently inducted into to the Hall of Fame and featured extensively in the beginnings of the new league.

He played 28 games at Leeds before moving to Manchester, scoring 64 goals for the Red Devils, proving to be a catalyst for their domination in England.

Cantona scored three goals for Leeds in the first season of the Premier League

1,000th – Mike Newell for Blackburn, 7th April 1993

Newell netted the goal in Blackburn’s 3-1 win against Nottingham Forest, he enjoyed another three years before he left for Birmingham City in 1996 for £750,000.

5,000th – Andy Townsend for Aston Villa, 7th December 1996

Townsend is credited with the milestone but there is a debate as to whether it was scored at exactly the same time as Chris Sutton’s goal for Blackburn against Leicester.

10,000th – Les Ferdinand for Spurs, 15th December 2001

Ferdinand is among just two milestone scorers to be inducted into the Hall of Fame.

The striker has an incredible goal scoring record and has played for QPR, Newcastle, Tottenham, West Ham, Leicester, Bolton and Reading in his 22-year career.

15,000th – Moritz Volz for Fulham, 30th December 2006

Volz scored for Fulham in a big match at Craven Cottage against west London rivals Chelsea.

It was all the more surprising as it was only the full-back’s third ever goal at the time and after 125 appearances for Fulham he netted just twice.

20,000th – Marc Albrighton for Aston Villa, 21st December 2011

Albrighton scored the milestone against Arsenal but thanks to a late Yossi Benayoun goal the Gunners won 2-1 at Villa Park.

The midfielder would also go on to put his name in the list of players to also win the league, for Leicester City.

Leicester City news: Marc Albrighton signs new four-year deal with Premier League champions
Albrighton joined Leicester in 2014 and became a regular for the champions

25,000th – Zlatan Ibrahimovic for Man United, 6th November 2016

“I thought it was just me who had scored 25,000!”

Despite only being at Manchester United for two seasons, Zlatan somehow put his name in the history books and responded in typical Zlatan fashion.

He then scored his 400th club career goal just 12 minutes later…

Ibrahimovic celebrated in style scoring the 25,000th goal after Paul Pogba netted the 24,999th.

30,000th – Chris Wood for Burnley, Sunday August 29th 2021.

The 30,000th goal of the league came from Burnley’s Chris Wood against Leeds United in a 1-1 draw, but that goal was cancelled out by Patrick Bamford who just got a call-up to the England squad for the first time for the 2022 World Cup Qualifiers.

Transfers: The most expensive departures and arrivals

In June 1992 a huge coup from the star of England, Paul Gascoigne, left Tottenham for Lazio for a record-breaking £5.5m.

Since then, copious amounts of money has been spent bringing players into and out of the league.

In 1996, Alan Shearer left Blackburn Rovers for Newcastle United for £15m.

Paul Pogba obliterated the incoming transfer record with his arrival to Manchester United from Serie A giant Juventus for £89m in 2016.

And then just this summer, Jack Grealish smashed the record again, becoming a £100m star when he left Aston Villa for Man City.

Meanwhile, outgoings saw Cristiano Ronaldo leave United for Real Madrid in July 2009 for a staggering £80m.

Transfer gold: Cristiano Ronaldo signs for Real Madrid from Manchester United for a world record £80m
Cristiano Ronaldo was presented to Real Madrid supporters on July 6, 2009.

This was outdone by Gareth Bale in 2013 when he signed for Los Blancos, leaving Tottenham for £86m.

Finally, in January 2018, Liverpool’s Philippe Coutinho was on his way to Barcelona for a Premier League record-breaking fee of £105m which is yet to be overtaken.

Apperance leaders

  1. Gareth Barry – 653
  2. Ryan Giggs – 609
  3. Frank Lampard – 609
  4. David James – 572
  5. James Milner – 565
  6. Gary Speed – 535
  7. Emile Heskey – 516
  8. Mark Schwarzer – 514
  9. Jamie Carragher – 508
  10. Phil Neville – 505

Did you know?

The goalkeeper with the best attacking record is Paul Robinson. He has more assists than any other (five), scored from95 yards and even won a penalty.

Remember when Paul Robinson scored for Leeds? Watch the goal here!
Robinson has scored a handful of goals in his time in the top-flight of English football…

Only two players have scored penalties with both feet, they are Bobby Zamora and Obafemi Martins.

One of the biggest goals in the Premier League was Aguero’s against QPR to win the title in the dying seconds of the game, but surprisingly it was Mario Balotelli’s only assist.